Yet Another Thailand Poem

images 1

Many thanks to Clementine, an on-line literary magazine, for publishing the following poem in their September 2015 issue.

Hand-Rolled Smokes

                                                     —for Ez

Not Drum, not other Euro brands

..I pop the cap of a Black Cat can

….exercise my old arthritic thumbs

.

Not your standard pack of pre-fab Zigs

..nothing manufactured overseas

….I purchase a pack of trimmed tree leaves

.

A local showed me how to twist a leaf

..keep it rolled without a line of glue

….keep it loose to let the burning breathe

.

Once between my lips, my two front teeth

..I lay back and puff the local reed

….let its incense burn beneath my nose

.

Small warm clouds of me float away as smoke

I become the island, come and take a toke

..

Leave a Reply

