Color Me Whoops!

I’ve seen lots of online watercolorists post paintings of their paint trays, so I thought I’d give it a try as a fun way of testing all my new paints.  Also wanted to experiment with shadowing with color.

scan_20170103

One thing I like about watercolor painting is that mistakes highlight the human interaction with the subject of the sketch.  My shadows aren’t all that smooth, and there’s that blotch of a bad dark line on the right.

But errors show the process of learning and, as a teacher by trade, I love the learning process and seeing mistakes that appear along the way.  After all, it’s in the making of mistakes where we learn.

Heck–I learned a lot with this effort.

Leave a Reply

